Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in foreign countries. Other says that these are not the only reason way someone should learn a foreign language.

There are two schools of thought on whether learning a foreign language is with the intention of traveling and working in the country or for other reasons. Personally, I strongly believe that there are a variety of factors that motivate a person to learn new languages.

On the one hand, it is impossible to deny that most people see learning a foreign language as a way to enhance their travel experience or as a key to expanding their career path abroad. In terms of the former, although it is possible to travel without knowing a foreign language, the pleasure is less than half, so breaking the language barrier that limits ability to learn, access, and understand is a compelling reason for many people, particularly young people, to learn foreign languages. Turning to the latter, those who are fluent in a foreign language have an advantage over others when it comes to recruiting foreign companies, which means that they can develop their job opportunities overseas.

On the other hand, I believe that there are various other factors that motivate people to learn a foreign language in addition to the two listed above. some people study foreign languages to gain more knowledge about the culture and customs of a country they admire. Furthermore, most youngsters are interested in learning foreign languages in pursuing idols. Korean language learning has recently become popular as more people idolize Kpop groups, which is a prime example of this. Moreover, some people are curious about the unique writing and meaning of a new language, particularly pictographic languages such as Chinese, Japanese, or Arabic.

In conclusion, while better foreign travel experiences and job opportunities abroad may be the primary motivators for people to learn foreign languages, it seems to me that there are supplemental inspirations that cause people to learn one or more new languages.