Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to ravel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

As the world we live in now has been globalized more and more, one of the most popular hobbies seems to be learning a foreign language. With this trend, the purpose of obtaining foreign language skill is controversial. Some people argue that people are eager to learn second language for the purpose of travel and work in overseas while other believe there are other purposes than that. In this essay, these both views will be discussed with my own perspective.

In the one hand, there is a reason why as to some think people gain second language skill to get a job and go for holidays to overseas is based on the fact that the more and more people tend to go all over the world for the purpose of holidays and work. Particularly, many of people these days are eager to get a job in foreign countries, seeking for different and challenging experience. In order to gain the exotic experience in overseas, it is unavoidable to gain second language skills that can also help to have more opportunities. Also, based on the result of survey carried out by major language schools in Seoul and Tokyo, asking the purpose of participating in language classes, main reason of attending language school was from the need of better communication and interaction when learners have a trip to overseas.

On the other hand, others attest that there are various other reasons to learn a second language. First of all, a considerable number of people are eager to have deeper understanding of cultural masterpieces including writing, film and music from many different part of world through the knowledge of foreign language. In other words, without going to other countries, these enthusiastic fans of foreign music, exotic movies, etc love to learn the foreign language to explore these art in a deeper and more elaborate way. Besides that, globalized company does now only exist in overseas but almost all countries have globalized companies that require the second language skill in order to perform tasks well, pointing out the fact that many of people working for those domestic countries would still need to know the second language.

In spite of above arguments, I support the view that people learn and second language skills for many different purposes and reasons apart from getting a job and having a holiday abroad.