Some people say that parents should be punished if their child breaks the law. Others say that parents are not responsible if the child breaks the law. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different views about whether parents should compensate for the children's illegal activities. While in some ways, it may seem unfair to lay all the blame on a parent, I personally believe that parents should be held accountable for the wrongdoing of their children.

There are various reasons why it might be considered unreasonable to punish the parents for the crimes their children commit. Because you can find no parent who wants their offspring become criminals, encouraging them to break the laws. Children themselves may engage in antisocial activities despite their parents discouraging the children repeatedly since it is the children that make the decision for themselves. Furthermore, teenagers begin to express themselves in such a way that no parental input can deal with some children with aggressive tendencies.

However, I agree with those who argue that parents are responsible for their children's actions. As children have impressionable mind, they acquire moral values from their parents. For example, kids born in a good family are often surrounded with moral lessons from the elderly while in dysfunctional families, it is normal to see violence and aggression for the children. As a result, children often imbibe what they see in their families, be it good or bad. In addition, since children are too immature to determine what is right or wrong, it is the duty of parents to guide them in the right direction.Thus, the home atmosphere can have a huge influence on the actions that children take, which means that parents are those who take responsibility for their own children.

In conclusion, it seems to me that it would be better to punish parents for the illegal activities that their children take because children normally imitate the actions of their parents as they are role models for the young generation.