Some people say there should be only one official international language. Others say that it is bad. Discuss both views and give you own opinion.

It is argued that one official language for all human beings should be applied. While a number of people believe that this can do more harm than good, I think it is better to have an official language.

On the one hand, language is one of the most essential factors of cultural identifiers. There is no doubt that language reflects the identity of a country or community, thus if only one language is offered worldwide, culture will disappear in not distant future. Moreover, when learning another language at a very young age, children tend to lose their mother tongue, as a result, they will not inherit traditional quintessence from their ancestors as usual.

On the other hand, creating one official language brings a number of advantages to social life. Firstly, if a language is common globally, there is no barrier to communication as people from all walks of life can directly talk with others without fear of misunderstanding. Secondly, knowing others’ language helps us become more empathetic. Consequently, racism and other forms of discrimination can be eradicated. Thirdly, mutual understanding are playing a crucial part in reducing tension among countries in terms of diplomatic crises. An epitomic for this fact is that in the Middle East, if people especially their authorities can understand others’ language, there will be less destructive wars and citizens will no more suffer from hunger and death. Finally, an official international language absolutely promotes global trade, business, and so that there will witness a dramatic development in economy.

In conclusion, a common language across the globe is beneficial to everyone. At the same time, every individual should give respect to their tradition and culture and try to retain them.