Some people say tourism brings about positive effects on the countries where tourists travel while others argue it does have disadvantages. What may be the advantages and disadvantages of tourism?

In today’s modern world, tourism has prevailed in many nations. Some people are convinced that we can benefit a lot from this industry; in the meantime, others argue that are too many drawbacks of it. Personally, I am of the opinion that there are both advantages and disadvantages of tourism.

To begin with, it is a fact beyond dispute that tourist industry provides a profusion of benefits. First of all, tourism can supply local people with many kinds of jobs. That is to say, in those holiday destinations, people might build many hotels, restaurants, supermarkets and so on, which will give people many potential chances to have a job. Secondly, tourism has a great contribution to the national economy. In other words, we could benefit from the expenditures on transport, food and taxes from visitors.

Howbeit, notwithstanding the aforementioned merits, there would also be the presence of accompanying drawbacks. First and foremost, the environment may deteriorate in a wide range of ways. For instance, tourists can litter every place they put their foot on, which will worsen the status of the surroundings and landscape. Secondly, this tourist industry can make the life of local people more and more complicated and messier. To illustrate, people from the novel area might arrive in and make these holiday destinations more crowded and nosier, which will has an atrocious influence on the life of people in these regions.

To conclude then, it is an undeniable fact that although there exist positive impacts on tourism, its adverse effects should never be overlooked. Indeed, it is of great importance for one to be able to benefit from it and evade its drawbacks.