In India and even in many parts of other countries, Television is one of the oldest source of entertainment. It has a great influence and acts as a timepass not only on children but even on the old age people. They see spiritual programs, daily soaps, news and whatever they like that too in national and vernacular languages. People are also addicted to television these days.

Here, it is argued, whether watching television is influencing behavior of children or the amount of time spent watching television influences children’s behaviors ? Television is a chatter box with lots of thing to entertain. It can be knowledgeable or it can be just a time pass. All depends on what is the children watching. Mainly children like watching cartoons which I believe is important for the development of brain and also acts a topic for conversation amoung peers. But there are few cartoons like shinchan which shows little vulgarity. So it’s the duty of parents to teach their children what should be seen and what is right. children are in their developing age therefore parents here plays an important role in observing what is their child learning from the cartoons or other shows on T.V.

Furthermore, many children sits with their parents or grandparents and spend hours in watching daily soaps. Which has very bad influence on children. Few serials which are based on history or teaches religious lessons like in India Chandragupta Morya, Jhansi ki Rani LaxmiBai, Mahabharat, Ramayan, Movie telecasts like chak de india, Bhagat Singh, Milkha singh. Channels like discovery, all these if seen, have good influence on children because even if child is spending 3 hours in watching it then in return he/she is gaining something valuable and knowledgeable.

Moreover, Spending hours on television and having no physical activity makes children couch potato. They are less social and remains introvert. It’s important to go out in open air and make friends. Along with all this having perfect balance to study curriculum as well as some out of course books like some story books or novels is also very important in today’s competitive world.

Thus, to recapitulate, and in my opinion, It’s true that television and they time spent on watching television influences children behavior but I believe that what is being watch plays the most significant and vital role on their behavior. Therefore, the primary responsibility is of parents and family members to keep a watch on what is their children learning and teach them how to have a perfect balance of outdoor activities & indoor activities