Some people think that advertising targeting children should be banned. Others, however, think that they should not be banned. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A great deal of people believes that those advertisements whose targeting audience is children should be banned, while others think that commercials should be permitted to promote goods and services aiming at children. In my view, promotions should not be allowed to targeting children through mass media.

On the one hand, children might get useful products that are helpful for their mental and physical development. Furthermore, commercials could make children develop a sense of taste, in other words, they can discover what kind of interests and activities they are into. Usually, advertised products are better than others in terms of quality, so parents would have a better idea about children's products.

On the other hand, advertisements are usually so manipulative for children who can’t distinguish what is good or bad for themselves. They can be easily manipulated using marketing strategies to urge them to buy goods or services. Furthermore, it may lead to financial problems in a family. In fact, some parents spend money on those advertised products that are hardly affordable for them. Moreover, if they refuse to buy those toys, there might be tension between parents and kids, so none of the cases is any better than others; therefore, parents usually see only the choice to fulfill children’s desires. Another point is that advertisements may create a standardized set of interests for a generation of a particular period which means children won’t discover what they are interested in on their own.

In conclusion, advertising targeting children can introduce a great variety of products while having adverse effects such as exposing adolescents to manipulating and weakening the bond between parents and their kids which cast a shadow over its benefits.