Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Whether students should only study subjects that are helpful to their future careers is a debatable question. Some people contend that university students should learn a wider range of subjects, while others opine that acquiring knowledge in areas like science and technology is more important. From my point of view, I am in favour of offering students more courses relating to others fields like art and sports in college.

If students are allowed to learn whatever they want, they have more opportunities to broaden their horizons. It is absolutely possible that what students have chosen as their majors is not their true interests. If they are encouraged to delve deep into other fields, it increases their chance to discover their real interests, as they are not confined only in their own area.

However, under the fierce competition of modern society, those who master specific skills and knowledge in science and technology are prone to future career success. Our society now is a tech-driven world and many enterprises emphasise the importance of scientific research abilities when hiring staff. Therefore, having an excellent academic performance in scientific and technological relating subjects can enhance their competitiveness in the job market and also in career advancement.

In my own perspective, I contend that more artistic and sports relating courses should be opened for college students. People's happiness is not only defined by their success in professional careers, which is promoted by their abilities in science and technology fields, but also attributed to their ability to enjoy and balance their lives. Learning how to appreciate artworks and doing exercise regularly can cultivate their minds as well as keep them healthy. In this way, they can gain more happiness in life compared with those who only focus on their work. Therefore, I'm in favour of students attending more artistic and sports classes which could improve their ability to enjoy life.