Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In today’s society, people hold various views as to whether students of tertiary education should be forced into core subjects critical for the future or they are given the freedom of choice. Whereas there are some compelling arguments to the contrary, it is my personal belief that everyone is allowed to study their preferred areas.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why some courses such as those related to science and technology are highly appreciated. To embark on, breakthroughs witnessed in such fields as medicine, education, or entertainment are all due to scientific researches as well as technological advancements. Accordingly, an emphasis on science and technology would lead to new inventions that improve people’s standard of living, thereby allowing for national prosperity. Furthermore, by forcing students to take a degree in certain subjects, the government is able to fill gaps in the education system so that professional citizens would be trained and contribute to the whole country’s comprehensive development.

On the other hand, I agree with those who believe that students should be able to decide their majors without restrictions. Firstly, people benefit more from focusing their time and energy on areas they have a passion for instead of being forced to learn a bunch of subjects which they have no interest in. For instance, as some are tempted to language-related courses rather than number-related ones, they should be given the freedom to take those lessons in order to develop to their full potential. Secondly, we are all incapable of accurately predicting which fields will be more favored in the future, therefore all every subject is of importance and has its role to play in the world. A salient example is that there may be a considerably increasing demand for literary and creative skills in the next few decades, leaving those who specialize in science or technology unable to adapt to the changes, which results in a decreased quality of life for citizens and a falling economy for their countries.

By way of conclusion, although there are sensible reasons for universities to pay particular attention to the critical subjects aforementioned, I reaffirm my state that students are given the right to obtain a certificate in their desired faculty.