Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

A school of thought holds that undergraduate students should focus on advantageous subjects such as science and technology, while the alternative stance asserts that they should study the subject in which they are passionate. The purpose of this essay is to discuss both sides of this contentious argument and then explain why I agree with the latter view.

On the one hand, proponents of studying subjects related to science and technology tend to point out a combination of reasons. First and foremost, science and technology have progressed significantly and impacted our daily life top to bottom, so we cannot deny the blessings. To illustrate, computers and the Internet have changed the world in every aspect, such as communication and cooperation. Another compelling reason is that students who learn these disciplines will have a more promising future. For instance, people who work in the IT industry may have a higher salary than writers.

On the other hand, I advocate those who believe that university students should study subjects they like. The primary reason is that students who choose their subjects as their interests will deliver remarkable results. One such example of this is that Taylor Swift, a world-famous music director, and singer, studied music as a major. Furthermore, the pupils will be less stressed and more fun when they learn their favorite field, and then they could focus their efforts to get their targets. Therefore, I think people are more likely to succeed if they follow their interests.

In conclusion, I believe that both sides are justifiable. However, on balance, although studying science and technology subjects is helpful for all university students in the future, they should be encouraged to learn whatever they like for achieving their goals in life.