Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Other believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Continuing studies to the third-level education requires thoughtful consideration. Choosing study program is not only influences to the greater future but also affects to the student life. Many of us assert that students should take course which are utilitarian in further future such as science and technology, while others argue this notion and opine that students should take course rely on their interest. To my way of thinking, university students should join a course whatever they want, as they will be more eager and motivated; however, they could not ignore that they might need any advice.

To begin with, highly demand in the employment market becomes major reason of choosing study subject. Globalisation era encourages every country to be more productive and provides huge investment to develop their nation. Booming infrastructure in Dubai, for example, constructs a lot of attractive features such as the highest skyscraper, hotel underwater, and artificial islands which need a large number of skill workers that consist of engineers and scientists. Admittedly, taking certain degree bring brighter career prospect for the future.

In spite of those arguments, studying subject what student really want gain strong motivation. If they do not have spirit for studying, they will be in under pressure and it can impact to their mentality. Research carried out by statistics center in Toronto shows that the plenty of students fail their degree because they do not have any feeling during the lesson; moreover, some students change their course in the middle term due to mentality pressure. Hence, it not only affects to their study conditions but also it gives bad impact to their future career. In addition, there is no one can predict what skill and knowledge will be useful in the future day. Korean language, for instance, has been favourite major since k-pop singers become a trend in young people community. Many company such as event organisers, tours and travel, and even fashion industries offer a competitive salaries and better intensive to people who have good korean language skill.

All of this being said, I believe that students should be allowed to choose study program by their own fascinate; nevertheless, they might need a guidance to this decision making.