University education is important aspect as far as students and parents are concerned. Eventhough, some people have the opinion that students opting for tertiary level of education should choose subjects coming under science and technology which will help them in their future career and jobs, I believe that these students should be given the freedom to study any subject of their interest . This essay will discuss both these views in details.

Professional jobs and high paid salaries everyones dreams especially proud moments for parents. So, if somebody get opportunity to study technical subjects, they go for it irrespective of interest just to make money infuture. Likewise few are forced to opt these subjects inspite of interest due to pressure from parents. For example, in my country students are taking MBBS and BTech courses even though they are aware of the tough subjects they have to study just because they are high paid professional courses. The aftereffect of this are those who are not competent either have paper back or have to drop the course. By this they are actually wasting a of a student who really had interest i these field.

On the otherhand, the world do need all types of employers like carpenters, plumbers, drivers along with doctors and engineers. So studies should be focused on actual interest than career oriented. Then only students can enjoy the subject to the fullest and excell in the respective field. For instance, I had a friend who score high mark in secondary level selected arts subject for graduation surprising both parents and teachers. Later on for our excitement she become an IAS officer .

To conclude, graduate level education should allow students to select subjects of their choice rather than thinking about future jobs. In my opinion those who select their subjects of interest can reach to the top lever in that field of studies.