Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe that there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A highly controversial phenomenon today relates to whether increasing punishment is the most effective approach to minimize crime or whether there are various issues to tackle with the crime. In this essay, I believe that several other measures could be considered to minimize offenders.

Locking criminals in prison for long periods of time has a direct influence on the crime rate. Due to the difficulty of seeking work, most criminals who are released from jail return to commit serious crimes. As a result, implementing additional years in prison has been preventing the majority of criminals in communities from increasing, suggesting that this strategy will have a positive impact on the crime rate. Furthermore, stronger punishment teaches offenders the significance of facing serious consequences after breaking the code as crimes. Therefore, individuals will have to visualize being involved in committing profound crimes that they are aware of the possibility of experiencing a very prolonged duration in prison.

In reality, there are additional measures that can considerably diminish the volume of crimes in the long-term. First and foremost, governments should invest more of their national resources in the education system. When a substantial proportion of the population is well-educated and capable of civilized attitudes, they become less likely to commit crimes and conduct these issues. In other words, this investment will significantly decrease the risk of individuals participating in negative behaviors. Secondly, public areas should be equipped with security cameras and managed by more police officers. This means that suspect individuals and behaviors are constantly monitored in order to prevent any potential crime situations.

In conclusion, while extended punishments are such an effective method for reducing crime inherently, I strongly believe that governments should examine numerous possible solutions to the criminal issues.