Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community instead of being put behind bars. To what extent do you agree?

People have different views about how to punish criminals. Some people think that criminals should be punished to do free work in community rather than to be sentenced into prisons. In my view, I disagree with it.

It’s a mistake that certain prisoners are only required to do free work in community. This is because offenders, who are back the society rather than behind bars, could have a determinate impact on the society. Doing unpaid work in community can not make criminals aware of the serious consequence of their illegal behaviors. On the contract, they feel that the cost of crimes which criminals commit is so low. As a result, they often commit crimes again and then cause serious effects on the society and other people.

I believe the best efficient method to punish offenders is putting them into prisons because prison can deter criminals. Typically, some people, who want to conduct illegal behaviors, could hesitate because they are afraid of being sentenced into prison. Therefore, few people commit crimes and the crime rate will reduce. In addition, prisons can provide access to education for criminals so they can increase knowledge about crimes, understand the consequence of crimes, and realize the importance of legal behaviors. After return the society, they are likely to become legal citizens rather than continue to conduct criminal things.

In conclusion, putting criminals behind bar will not only deter them not to commit crime again, but also educate them. So prison is the best punishment.