Some people think that children should start school at a very early age, but others believe that they should not go to school until they are older. Discuss both view and give your opinion

These days, opinion is divided on the issue whether children should start formal education at an early age or defer schooling until they are older. From my viewpoint, I disagree with the early commencement of study.

On the one hand, those who support early education cite the various benefits it brings to children. Firstly, with a head start, children can get familiar with the literacy and numeracy before their peers about 1 or 2 years. Consequently, the more early children are sent to school, the more unlikely they may be to fall behind with their classmates. Moreover, early childhood should be the prime period for cognitive development and language acquisition. This is illustrated by the fact that preschool children who learn addition and subtraction possibly show great potentials for Maths when they initiate schooling.

On the other hand, opponents of schooling of children under 7 point out that young learners may severely lack personal, interpersonal and social skills to perform academic activities. To be more specific, a large number of children probably do not possess adequate language skills as well as a sense of discipline and self-management. Additionally, early study can greatly impede children’s development both physically and mentally. Specifically, being sent to school when they are not psychologically ready can strike fear of learning into children. It perhaps stems from the fact that the educational environment usually associates with homework, continuous assessment and regulations which can put young learners under excessive pressure. Finally, young schoolers may devote too much time to scholastic study, with the result that they cannot find time for sports and exercise. As a consequence, children may be more vulnerable to illness and their physical development might be considerably harmed.

In conclusion, despite certain advantages of premature schooling involving early approach to knowledge acquisition, it appears well-advised that formal education should be postponed until children are mature enough due to the aforementioned demerits of early learning.