Some people think everyone should be a vegetarian, because we do not need to eat meat to have a healthy diet. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued by some that all people should adopt vegetarian diets as meat is virtually not important in our meals. I completely disagree with this point of view because it is neither justifiable nor scientific.

In my view, it is absurd to ask everyone to become vegetarians. In fact, such a proposal is strongly against the core value of a free and fair society where each individual is entitled to choose the way they eat and live. In this modern world, people should not be forced to adopt any particular lifestyle, no matter how healthy that might be, unless they make the decision by themselves. This freedom to decide on what food they should have is actually one of the important factors influencing the level of happiness for many people.

Apart from the human rights concern expressed above, the argument that people can live healthy without meat also does not hold water. It is scientifically proven that seafood, chicken and beef play a large part in ensuring people’s health. Different types of meat are rich in different nutrition, such as protein, chemicals, and calcium, and they provide what the human body needs and help it function well. Without the nutritional elements that we take from meat, we would be more prone to many health problems, from malnutrition to anemia. That is why WHO suggests that an average adult eat / should eat 50 grams of meat every day.

In conclusion, I believe that it is unreasonable and unhealthy to ask everyone not to consume meat since people should be free to choose their food and enjoy a balanced diet.