Some people think that genetically modified (GM) crops are a positive development. Others, however, argue that they are potentially dangerous. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Genetically modified foods are a controversial topic which has been widely debated in recent years. While some would argue that they represent a positive development to the society, others think that they can be damaging to both humans and to the environment. There are valid arguments on both sides which I will be discussing in this essay.

On the one hand, many GM enthusiasts believe that genetically modified crops are a sustainable form to mitigate world hunger. In fact, agricultural biotechnology is developing plants with higher levels of nutrients and also with higher tolerance to changes in weather conditions which can directly lead to an overall increase in food production. Due to climate change, much of the world's arable lands are becoming more difficult to farm. Moreover, considering the rapid population growth, it is expected that in a near future, there will be a food supply shortage all around the globe, so genetic modifications seem to be a reasonable solution.

On the other hand, critics suggest that GM foods can be linked to some health problems such as different types of allergies, antibiotic resistance and in severe cases even cancer. It is undeniable that diet can impact directly one's health. Also, an increase in the incidence of cancer in recent years has led many to believe that this can be associated with genetically modified foods. Furthermore, there is also a lot of concern about the impacts of this on the environment which remains to be unknown.

Overall, it seems to me that the risks of GM foods are still only theoretical. Although this is a subject that requires specific assessment and further research, for the time being, I believe that the advantages of genetically modified food outweigh the possible drawbacks.