Some people think that good health is very important to every person, so medical service should not be run by profit-making companies. Do the advantages of private health care outweigh the disadvantages?

In life today people believe that the key to lead a happy living is to possess good health, so there are comments that healthcare services should be operated by the government rather than private companies. From a personal point of view, while I agree with this statement, I also believe that private healthcare services do have many advantages.

Firstly, public hospitals in most countries are always overcrowded and underfunded which can put a lot of pressure on doctors, nurses staff and patients have to wait longer to be treated. Also, with the exponential growth population combined with the shortage of facilities, will put public healthcare systems in alarm condition when demands exceed supply. Therefore, private healthcare companies are places where can help to reduce the burden on the public system. In addition to this, those who choose to pay for private healthcare services will experience many benefits, such as cutting-edge medical equipment and short waiting times.

However, along with the benefits of private healthcare services bring, there are also drawbacks. To begin with, the private healthcare centres are often accused of overcharging, so people living in poverty are incapable of paying for this exorbitant fee. This prevents many people cannot gain access to healthcare services and have to live with severe and chronic disease, which is against the basic right of human. Furthermore, some people also argue that private healthcare services can create inequally between citizens of a nation as only a wealthy can afford the best and quickest treatment available. According to the report of the WHO (World Health Organization) pointed out that the accuracy in diagnosis and adherence to treatment guidelines of private health facilities is worse than that of government health services.

In conclusion, I believe that as long as the government do their best to provide a good standard of healthcare facilities and service for the general public, that will create competition with private services. Owners will have to improve on their limitations.