Writing, reading and maths are the three recognized traditional subjects. Computer skills should also be the fourth largest branch. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, computers are increasingly meddling with every aspect of human life, many people argue that computer science should be the fourth major sector besides the holy trinity of writing, reading and math. In my view, I agree with this belief for two main reasons: computer skills are a prerequisite for job seeking and computers allow access to international networking, which will be outlined in this essay.

To begin with, If computer skills as a compulsory subject at school can help students be better prepared for their future career. In the 4th industrial revolution, computer literacy is an indispensable requirement that almost every recruiter seeks in a resume, from tax corporations to pharmaceutical research institutions due to their considerable advantages such as enhancing information management, ensuring effective communication and research, saving time... Therefore, in order to gain and secure a decent job in the future, students definitely should have a good grasp of computers skills such as Microsoft Office or internet and social media skills.

Another reason to make computer science a major subject is teaching computer skills at school means providing students with a versatile tool to be able to have access to an unlimited source of knowledge and information. Students with computer skills can get access to a large amount of online materials and also take advantage of distance learning, which facilitates self-study. In addition, computers are a means to expand one's social circle thanks to the development of cyberspace. People from anywhere in the world can quickly connect with each other via computers regardless of geographical, cultural and language barriers where there are social media applications like Facebook and Twitter to keep in contact with their relatives who live far away or widen their circle of online friends. Furthermore, they can also approach a big range of music websites or online games to help relax after studying.

In conclusion, for the above-mentioned reasons, I totally agree that computer skills should be recognized as one of the more significant subjects and should be appeared in the curriculum to comprehensively prepare students for their future.