Writing, reading and maths are the three recognized traditional subjects. Computer skills should also be the fourth largest branch. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the question of whether computer literacies should be accepted to be the 4th major subject in school curriculum besides the three original essential sectors: writing, reading and maths. Although these skills has certain implications on the status and current lifestyles, its benefits will be far more significant.

On the one hand, there are many arise negative effects stemming from letting students to be exposed to the computer too early. First, since children are often drawn to vivid imagines and useful features computer brings, they tend to have a sedentary lifestyle. For example, students can get addicted to the excessive use of screens which distracts from learning, even the three major subjects, and immerses themselves into the virtual world. Second, computers are relatively detrimental to pupil's health, for example, by glueing to the computer screen for a long time, students may suffer from many symptoms and poor vision. Besides, there are many concerns about impairment of reflexes due to the repetitive nature of the hand muscles.

On the one hand, computer literacy reaps a multitude of benefits for students from adopting it into the school's critical subjects. First, computer skills have become a prerequisite for job-seeking since, in this era of technology, these competencies ranging from typing to picture editing or programming is always looked for in candidates's CV. For example, should a graduate be not prepared with computer competences, his job application might not be rejected no matter how excellently he performs in other fields. Moreover, the 4th industrial revolution is approaching any country and robots are about to deprive manual workers for jobs, not to be lagged, each employee should be able to catch up with the latest technology. Second, not only enhancing the young's capability and productivity, but computer literacies also renders further reward rather than a job prospect. A computer connected to the internet can be a common simile for a window to the whole world as it enables students with more opportunities which expands their network locally and internationally. Also, people from all regions around the world can have an instant connection with each other via computers regardless of geographical, cultural and language barriers.

In conclusion, due to the substantial benefits computers offer, computer skills should be made one of the top priority subject in the curriculum to comprehensively prepare students for their future.