Scientist say that in the future humanity will speak the same language. Do you think this is a positive or negative social development?

Nowadays, whether we should only speak the same language in communication around the globe has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although this trend is not without advantages, the downsides will justify these.

On the one hand, humans are likely to reap a multitude of benefits from the emergence of a global language. First, in terms of education, since globalized language will facilitate the access of a wealth of knowledge, all people can enrich their knowledge once language barriers were removed. For example, an individual can effortlessly study and enhance his acquisition about a wide range of academic fields, such as science, literature, history without any limitation, sharpening his understanding about the world surrounding. Second, as regards economic perspective, the global language potentially promotes economic prosperity. This means that the global language becomes effective in the sense that it enables people easily exchange information without any confusion in the era of industrialization where there are more and more multinationals ceaselessly growing up around the globe

On the other hand, the adoption of the global language also has more disadvantages that should be taken into account. First, linguistic homogeneity can lead to the disappearance of minority languages. In fact, it is not straightforward for a country to eradicate its mother language which has been embedded with historical and cultural values over the prism of time, resulting in the loss of cultural identity of a nation for this process as an unexpected consequence. Second, human will find it hard to create the global language since it takes hundreds of years to get the process of grammar, vocabularies and more done but it offers little return.

In conclusion, the cons of a mutual language will eclipse the pros in terms of a mutual global language for all people. By using multi-languges in this world, humans can reap more benefits rather than harning one.