Students leave high school without learning the way how to manage their money. What are the reasons and solutions of this issue?

There is a truth that young high school graduates leave school without sufficient knowledge or skill in personal money management. The reasons are that financial control is not included in the curriculums and most parents do not know what to do or if they did but they do not know if it is right.

As a matter of fact, high school's education programs do not consist of financial management. Schools only concentrate on teaching major subjects such as Math, Literature, Chemistry, etc. In other words, academic knowledge is more invested instead of preparing students soft skill such as how to manage their money in high school education. Furthermore, the only money that students receive is from their parents and this is typically in the form of pocket-money, which is spent for individual purposes. Therefore, young people only really learn how to use money, and not how to earn, save or manage it wisely.

However, there are a number of viable solutions to help students deal with this problem. First, basic money management could be added as a compulsory subject for students in their high schools years, which would help equip them with knowledge and skill to manage their own personal finances when they leave school, move out of home and enter employment. The second option is to be able to enhance awareness of this issue through education at home. Parents can prepare their children with knowledge about the family's finance, which is more popular in western nations. By this, their kids are adequately educated in such matter and they will have a maintain successful and independent financial situation after graduating and leaving home.

In conclusion, although personal money management is a big problem for a lot of school leavers, this situation can be resolved with appropriate changes.