Some people think that good health is very important to every person, so medical service should not be run by profit-making companies. Do the advantages of private health care outweigh the disadvantages?

In life today people believe that the key to lead a happy living is to possess good health, so healthcare services should not be run by private companies, whose main purpose is to make profit. From a personal point of view, while I almost agree with this statement, I also believe that private healthcare services do have many advantages.

Firstly, public hospitals in most countries are always overcrowded and underfunded which can put a lot of pressure on doctors, nurses staff and patients to recover quickly so that more people to be treated. Also, with the exponential growth population, demands for medical services usually outstrips supply because government resources are not infinite therefore when people choose private healthcare companies it can help to reduce the burden on the public system. In addition to this, those who choose to pay for private healthcare services will experience many benefits, such as cutting-edge medical equipment, speed of treatments and qualifications of doctors and nurses.

On the other hand, along with the benefits of private healthcare services, there are also drawbacks. To begin with, the private healthcare centres are often accused of overcharging, so people living in poverty are incapable of paying for this exorbitant fee. With this many people cannot gain access to healthcare and have to live with severe and chronic disease, which is against the basic right of human. Furthermore, some people also argue that private healthcare services can create inequally between citizens of a nation as only a wealthy can afford the best and quickest treatment available.

In conclusion, I believe that as long as the government do their best to provide a good standard of healthcare facilities and service for the general public, then private services can also exist and provide many more advantages that will outweigh the disadvantages.