Students leave high school without learning the way how to manage their
money. What are the reasons and solutions of this issue?
It is believed that students do not know how to get by on managing their money
after graduating from high school. This problem could be caused by a number of
following factors which could be solved by possible measures.
There are several reasons why high school graduates are unable to control their
budgets efficiently. First, lacking courses involved in necessary social skills,
including how to manage their own money gives rise to a great number of high
school leavers not being able to handle their spending. It seems that
the school’s curricula focus mainly on transmitting knowledge via academic
subjects such as Mathematics, Biology, Physics while neglecting the
indispensability of teaching soft skills to learners. Furthermore, that high school
graduates have difficulties in taking control of financial affairs is brought
about by the overprotection of their parents. It is seeable that quite a few parents
consider their children to be still baby boys or girls. As a result, they do not force
their children to make money on their own, they even give them an allowance
monthly. Thus, most school graduates are incapable of understanding properly the
values of money and do spend their money in an unwise way.
Therefore, a number of following actions should be taken to eradicate the problem
described above. One immediate measure is for education system to modify their
syllabuses by adding financial literacy courses. These courses will enable students
to make effective use of their money instead of misspending it. Besides, the
parental influence on their children is of concern. Parents ought to allow, also
encourage their children to look for part-time jobs in order that their kids will
realize the critical values of money.
In conclusion, it is such a severe issue that students lack skills of financial
management, which could be tackled by the involvement of schools and families.