It is difficult for people in the cities to get enough physical exercise. What are the causes and solutions?

In modern life today, maintaining physical fitness and overall well-being has become a great challenge for everyone, especially for city dwellers. I think the lack of physical practice stems from two main reasons, which are the shortage of time and the development of science and technology, many modern public facilities were born.

The fact that people in urban areas have difficulties having enough workouts seem to be reasonable. First, a large proportion of the city population devoted most of their time for work, family and friends and that reduce their time fund and energy to exercise. In addition, the sedentary life is prefered by many young people nowadays is another contributor to this issue. Since most teenagers and young adults are used to spending most of their time to sit in front of TV screens, playing video games or surfing social network sites, physically exhausting activities seem unnecessary and unappealing.

However, governments and individuals can take some workable measures to overcome those difficulties. For the government, they can apply a new law that shortens the average working hours. If workers are allowed to leave work early, they will be able to spend time pursuing healthy activities and habits. Secondly, more financial resources should be allocated to educating city residents, especially the young generations, about the importance of physical exercise. An online propagation campaign about potential health risks of sedentary behaviours on popular websites such as Facebook and Twitter, for example, will serve as a warning for people who do not frequently exercise and encourage a healthier lifestyle.

In conclusion, citizens of many big cities, although fully aware of the vital role of physical exercise, still confront difficulties in making it a habit, and two main solutions including reducing working hours and enhancing people's awareness can help tackle this problem.