Obesity is one of the major concerns we face today. Some individuals believe that the government is responsible for the increased incidents of obesity among children. Whilst, others argue that parents are accountable. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the argument and provide my opinion.

It is true that the government could have taken preventive measures to control obesity in children. The government could pass regulations that require food companies to produce chocolates, cheese and chips with more nutrients. These regulations will force companies to sell their food products at higher prices. This, in turn, will reduce their consumption and when consumption of junk foods decreases, incidents of obesity will also decrease. For example, New York Times reported that children of New York are less obese than children of other states in the US because the local government there regulated the food industry a long time ago. However, government intervention alone will not prevent obesity in children. Parents have an equally important role to play. They should monitor their children’s eating habits to control obesity.

Nowadays, many parents work long hours to feed their children, but they do not realize that the food that they serve is not of high quality. This is another reason for the increase in childhood obesity. So parents must find the time to cook proper meals for their children. If both of them are busy, they can share this responsibility between themselves. This way obesity can be controlled or eliminated.

In conclusion, both the government and the parents can play an important role in controlling childhood obesity. The government should regulate the food industry and parents should serve healthy home cooked meals.