Some people think that government, should subsidize fruits and vegetables lo make healthy food cheaper. Others argue that tax should be set on unhealthy food. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Having healthy citizens is a priority for every government in developing countries. Nevertheless, there is a debate regarding the most efficient way to encourage people to have good health. One group prefers to financially support healthy products; while, another opinion is to increase the taxes on junk food. From my perspective, it is everyone’s responsibility to take care of his health; however, the government should raise the taxes on fatty food.

On the one hand, the first group claims that lowering the prices of healthy food, such as fruits and vegetables, will likely encourage people to buy and eat them. There are many ways to offer such food at low prices. For example, the government could decrease the levy on many types of crops. Moreover, it can import essential vegetables from cheaper places through international agreements.

On the other hand, another perspective advice to impose a higher levy on the fast-food industry through what is called “fat-tax”. They believe that the fat tax would discourage people to buy such unhealthy food and, consequently, would buy vegetables and fruits. Thereafter, this will result in a decrease in the prevalence of obesity and other diseases such as diabetes and hypertension.

From my point of view, there are many risk factors, other than fatty food, that can lead to an unhealthy lifestyle such as sedentary life and alcohol drinking. I would prefer to encourage people to practise exercise and avoid smoking and alcohol rather than spending the money of taxpayers on supporting food. Moreover, the government can invest more money on building sporting centers with no membership fees.

To conclude, some people argue that we should support the sales of healthy food by providing them at low and affordable prices. Whereas, another group advises to impose a high fat tax. In my opinion, conducting a healthy life is multi-factorial and needs the cooperation of the people as well as the government.