Some people think that government spending on the restoration of old buildings in cities should be stopped. Instead, they should spend the money on housing and road development. To what extent do you agree?

These days, most countries have shown great concern about the issues related to the building. Controversy exists as to whether the government should stop investing money in the restoration of ancient buildings to give more funds for constructing houses and improving the quality of roads. From my perspective, I am utterly convinced that money should be paid for the development of housing and road rather than the reconstruction of the old buildings.

To begin with, the most frequent factor contributing to this opinion is that in this day and age, many people over the world face up with the risk of being homeless after disasters. This is shown by the following example. A ferocious explosion tore through the Lebanese capital on August 4 in 2020, damaging more than 70,000 houses and leaving some 300,000 homeless people. Therefore, it is obvious that the government should spend funds on rebuilding houses for citizens rather than repairing the old constructions.

In addition, another point to support this view is that the quality of roads closely attributed to the injury related to traffic accidents. One example to demonstrate this opinion is that in 2018, 63,194 people had died and 258,532 people had been wounded in traffic accidents in China, seeing a growth compared to the previous year. When looking into this problem, people found that the primary reason for this consequence was the unregulated road works and a lack of road facilities to control the vehicles stream. For this reason, if roads are not improved in the right way, the figure for fatality will continue increasing.

Given the aforementioned points, it may be concluded that the necessity of spending money on housing and road development is an undisputed, which is much more essential than the renovation of the old buildings.