Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree with this view?

The government’s spending on artistic activities is receiving criticism since other fields are believed to be more justifiable options. Personally, I think that the national authority should support the arts financially if their budget allows so.

Regarding underprivileged nations, investing in artistic programmes might be an inappropriate choice for many reasons. Firstly, if a country is in a tragic situation, any encouragement of art is nonsense to its people until their basic requirements are fulfilled. For instance, the worryingly high inflation rate in Venezuela has redirected public attention from entertainment activities to fundamental living needs. Moreover, since the national budget of underdeveloped countries is quite limited, spendings on the arts might take away the valuable financial resources needed for other emergency problems such as the recent medical crisis caused by Covid 19.

However, given that not only does art bring about significant cultural and spiritual values but it also offers potential business opportunities, governments with abundant monetary resources should invest in the arts. In other words, by promoting art-related activities, the recreational needs of people would be met; thus improving their living quality. Also, artistic programmes and tourism would benefit from the government’s support since state donations could enhance the quality of art events, making them appealing to tourists. To exemplify, despite having no natural or historical heritage, Bat Trang village in Vietnam is still a famous tourist attraction thanks to its unique pottery-making art, which has long been facilitated by Vietnam’s government.

In conclusion, although the arts might be an unreasonable government spending in countries with a limited budget or emergency issues; generally, national authotiries should allocate money to artistic activities due to various benefits they bring about.