Some people think the government is wasting money on the arts and this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree with this view?

Arts is enjoyed by all cultures around the world. It may be in the form of ballet, classical music, contemporary music or dance or even simply art work. But is the government spending too much of money on arts remains much to debate.

I believe a government must not invest too much on the arts itself but also concentrate on channeling some funds in other directions. For example, more funds should be streamlined towards primary education to provide the young students with the best possible education they can receive. With the ever expanding number of students per classroom and in a school, more funds towards educating these children would be very much appreciated.

These measures taken by the government will ease the pressure of the schools in looking for other avenues of raising money to run the school. It has become a concerning factor renting out spaces by some schools to advertising companies, could trap the young minds in the wrong manner. Therefore, minimising such distractions within the school environment would help the right development of the young minds. This will result in nurturing these young minds to become responsible and respectful adults in the future.

Furthermore, more money should also be spent on improving surveillance technologies in public areas. In a world where terror attacks occur more frequently than during the past few decades, this would keep the innocent public from harms way. However, these methods should be placed or used in a manner which does not intrude on the public enjoying the outdoors or the public spaces of interaction. This will help in recognising dangers and taking quick action to minimize casualties.

In conclusion, there should not too much money spent only on arts but, should be channeled towards other pressing concerns to balance out government spending.