Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There has been a significant population of emigrants settling in large, metropolitan cities in Australia such as Sydney, Melbourne, Gold Coast and Canberra. As a result there has been a tremendous increase in the number of motor vehicles on these roads leading upto traffic congestions.

Sydney amonst all has an unprecedented increase in such numbers with more time, money and emotional energy being spent on the roads. Driving in Sydney has become a nightmare and as a result, more and more people opt the railway mode rather than drive their own car in order to save time stuck in traffic and reduce the costs in parking fees. As a result Sydney has one of the sophisticated and efficient railway systems in Australia. Rather than spending hours on congested roads, arriving at a destination under 20 minutes via the railway has become the appealing choice for commuters. For the regular commuters the use of the Opal card, Companion card or another available seasonal card has resulted in saving money on transportation as these cards offer discounted prices for daily commuters at the added advantage of not having to purchase a ticket regularly.

The Gold Coast has recently built the light railway called the Tram to transport people to and around the main locations within the city. This has resulted in the establishment of one-way streets creating proper order on the roads with reduced traffic conditions.

Similarly, there are plans by the Labour party to implement the tram system within Canberra. However, with the Liberals having majority stake in the Parliament, this debate of building the light railway rather than spending the money on the upcoming hospital is something of the future. In such a situation rather than investing on building the railway which probably may not be popular amongst the locals, more money should be invested on upgrading and maintaining the world class road system which Canberra is famous for.

In conclusion, I am in agreement of more money being spent on the railway in cities like Sydney and Melbourne. However, it is a calculated risk which should only be implemented if the public is to benefit rather than burdening them with more taxes.