Some people think that governments should give financial support to creative artists such as painters and musicians. Others believe that creative artists should be funded by alternative sources. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about whether governments should back creative artists financially. While some people disagree with the idea of the governmental investment in artists, I believe that money for art projects should come from both governments and other sources.

Supporters of government funding artists hold the view that it is valuable for the cultural preservation. This is because artworks are always tightly bound to a nation’s history, belief, culture and ethos. Subsidizing these artists and encouraging them to create freely without considering money will therefore have important implications to a country’s cultural diversity. China, for example, is known for its colorful cultural heritage like the Peking Opera which is now as appealing as it was centuries ago. Without the government’s investment, this art form together with the culture lying behind may suffer a risk of loss.

Nevertheless, the argument against government backing for art is that governments have more important concerns. It is worth emphasizing that the artistic creation is time-consuming and a little costly. If the government keeps pumping money into this domain, then there is not enough money available for other essential services, such as education, healthcare, infrastructure and security, the basic needs of a country’s residents. However, the works of creative artists should be supported by other organizations, such as private companies.

In conclusion, governmental help is sometimes necessary. However, if artists are supported exclusively by the government, then there is a possibility that the creations of artists will be influenced and even controlled by the preference of authority. Therefore, from my perspective, artists should not only count on the government but also on other sources like entrepreneurs.