Some parents cannot stay at home full time to care for young children of preschool age. Some of these parents have the choice of sending their young children either to a childcare center, where many children will be together, or to an individual caregiver, where the child will be the only one being cared for. Which approach do you think is better for a young child, and why?

Nowadays, children of preschool age(of about one to five) have access to a childcare center with many companions or an individual caregiver with one-for-one service. Although some parents tend to hold that sending their kids to the center is a better approach to take the place of them when they are working, from my perspective, one-for-one cultivation service is more suitable for the children.

To begin with, children can better keep healthy under the help of individual caregivers. This is because the caregivers can better take care of children, helping them avoid being infected by diseases borne by other children. This is especially helpful when there is an epidemic period, which happens in every interval between seasons. If the children usually vulnerable to sickness are not looked after well, they are more likely to have flu, which may further damage their incomplete immune systems. On the contrary, the educator giving care to one child can instantaneously oversee this child’s physical condition, taking the effective solution to nip the illness in the bud if the child is somewhat uncomfortable.

In addition, children can be better-trained when they acquire the intensive care in the individual caregivers. In general, individual caregivers can obviously provide a better environment where children can focus on acquiring knowledge rather than be distracted by other peers in the care centers who may possess bad habits cultivated by the poor family education. In this way, children’s good habits can be better developed, which may be of great essence to their future schooling acquisition. For instance, babies in the caregivers can pay more attention to what their tutors are talking and acting. In contrast, babies in the care centers are prone to being disrupted by the mischievous counterparts while they are listening to their teachers. Once they are distracted, hardly can they get back to their learning, which may harm their concentration.

Granted, some opponents may argue that children in care centers can foster their sense of cooperation for they are more often than not required to cooperate with others. However, seeing this situation from another respect, we may find that these children tend to quarrel with each other over the same toy due to the fact that they are more selfish in the preschool years.

In a nutshell, according to what has been discussed above, my firm conviction is that an individual caregiver can be a better solution to the parents’ thorny issues of parenting due to the hustle and bustle of work.