Opinions are divided on whether money should be invested in faster means of public transport or whether the government should spend it on other urgencies. Both sides of this argument will be discussed in the essay below before my view on this matter is drawn in the end.

I understand why some people believe that the faster means of public transport need to be invested in. From their point of view, when public transport is upgraded to be faster it can help ease traffic congestion. In fact, with speedy means of public transport will encourage a reduction in the use of private vehicles. Another point to be made is that people can achieve the time efficiency. Instead of spending much time on commuting, people can take advantage of that time to get unfinished tasks done at the beginning of a day. As a result, they can reduce daily workload.

On the other hand, there are some reasons why the government should spend money on other priorities. Firstly, the economic zones are becoming more popular which means various factories are built without proper waste treatment systems, which leads to exhaust fumes and polluted water. So the government should support to build standard waste treatment factories to restrict the amount of emission released to protect the health of residents. Secondly, lack of medical centers in remote areas which means that people have to travel far distance to get there. The government should consider to build more medical centers at necessary places, which are opened 24 hours a day, have modern facilities and well-trained staff. This will help people receive timely treatment and ensure their health.

In conclusion, I would side with those who believe that the government should spend money on other priorities such as the environment.