The media should include more stories which report good news. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, there has been an ongoing debate over whether the media should give more coverage to positive things. This essay will discuss both points of view.

In the first stage, it is undeniable that good news can make a remarkable improvement in mental health. To be clearly stated, reading the newspapers focusing predominantly on positive content will instill optimism and positivity in people, which yield numerous benefits in their mentality as well as life expectancy. For example, the research of Boston University School of Medicine based on approximately 70000 men and women has shown that the most optimistic people can live about 15% longer and stand more chances of reaching age 85 or older. Secondly, the good news is able to generate the motivation to do humanitarian works. For instance, when exposing to some content about volunteers or a charity organization that can easily create a far-reaching campaign, people will be inspired and led to involve in it.

However, bad news also plays a salient role in life. Firstly, it can give indispensable warnings against some current issues. To clarify fully, as watching the negative stories that offer a wealth of information about disasters or diseases, people will take several precautions to avoid it. For example, in this Covid-19 pandemic, due to the number of deaths and infected patients reported, people are conscious of its hazards and self-isolate. Besides, bad news can also broaden the outlook on a problem. If people just aware of the positive sides of an issue, they cannot analyze and examine it objectively, which results in a multitude of misleading thoughts.

In conclusion, although I agree the positive news should be reported more on the media, I also think that it cannot replace the negative information.