Some people think that hosting international sport events is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

In this day and age, it is generally believed that international sporting events can be benefitcial to host nations. Some people advocate this idea while I dissagree to some extent..

On one hand, there is a wide array of plausible reasons why a country might be benefitcial for hosting an international sporting event. A principal reason is that for countries wishing promote their profiles, international sport-related events like the Olympics can be an ideal choice. For example, more and more people know about an unwell-known South Arfica after World Cup 2010, and China has gained increasing global reputation after its successful Olympics Beijing 2008. A further reason is that preparation for a big event can create jobs for locals. As a result, citizens' income is on the increase leading to their better standard of living, temporarily revitalizing depressed areas.

On the other hand, those aformentioned benefits are short-lived, and hosting such a big event is more likely to have long-term negative effects on environment and economic development of host countries for a number of compelling reasons. Firstly, the obliteration of hundred ecras of woodland to make room for the massive erection of facilities for the needs of a big event, which has significant impacts on environment. Consequently, many species are being on the verge of extinction since their natural habitat is destroyed due to the phonomenon. Secondly, it can be undenied that those facilities are often disused or abandoned after a short period of time. This means that the costs of maintainance can be a great economic burden.

Inconclusion, I am inclined to believed that while hosting an international sporting event can be advantageous benefits to a certain extent, it has adverse effects on the environmental and economic aspects of a country.