Some people think that hosting international sports events is good for the country, while others think it could have some negative effects on local people.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are contrasting viewpoints about whether being a host country for international sports events could have negative or positive effects on local people. Personally, I believe that there are valid rationales to support both opinions; moreover, the government of the host country and the local residents should cooperate to make benefits outweigh drawbacks.

First of all, hosting international events, especially sports events, which have an enormous number of fans throughout the globe, could bring a loud and critical public eye on a worldwide scale to the host country. The country could manage to have good images and attention in cases where they provide satisfaction to the public. For example, a host country can be praised for its hospitality toward sports players and their fans. However, the public could also severely criticize the host country for anything they consider inappropriate, such as having poor preparations before matches. To make it an advantage, the government and the contract organization should have a thorough and deliberate plan for the event and run it smoothly and efficiently.

My second point is that international sports events could earn the country where they take place pros and cons economically and environmentally. Hosting a global event as such could help the country attract lots of foreign tourists, who massively benefit the incomes of local people by using their amenities or buying their goods and food. Nevertheless, the government could not control the amount of trash that was going to be dumped, which obviously does no good but harms the environment. In this case, the government, along with local merchants or even street vendors, should run advertisements or slogans to raise public awareness of how important it is to keep our environment clean and safe. The government could promulgate laws and punish whoever litters rubbish indiscriminately.

In conclusion, there are both advantages and disadvantages to hosting an international sports event. In order to make more pros than cons, the government of the host country, along with the company that is responsible for the event, and the home citizens should work together as a team to streamline the event.