Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, hosting an international sports event can be seen as controversy. Some people reckon that it is beneficial for the country whereas others perceive it as disadvantageous. In my opinion, it brings benefits for the country as long as the government implements the sustainable management.

One predominant reason that hosting an international sports event can bring benefits to one country is that it boosts the economy of that particular country. Being the host of a well-known and enormous sports event meaning there are definitely many people visiting the country in that period of time, particularly candidates from other countries coming to participate in the event, not to mention a huge number of visitors and tourists coming along to cheer their candidates up or just simply want to attend in a fascinating event. In other words, more people require more accommodation, more restaurants and cafes and more entertainment facilities. Clearly, more employment opportunities are created. Therefore, people in the host country, in particular tourism and hospitality industry, are making more money, hence the host country benefits from it all.

On the other hand, if this is not managed carefully and responsibly by authorised people, hosting an international sports event can leave the host country and its individuals with devastating consequences. One significant and recent example of this can be seen in Qatar as the host of World Cup 2022. Being the host country, Qatar needs a lot of labourers. As a result, labour migrants from nearby countries has come to work as there is no and inadequate job opportunities in their own countries. This is supposed to be a benefit for both the host country and its individuals as well as other people. However, labourers in Qatar are facing economical, social and health problems as they are receiving no payment, delayed payments, working in unsafe conditions without proper PPE - personal protective equipment and facing sanitary issues. Little progress has been carried out to protect migrant workers by Qatar's authorities. This is due to the lack of administration and responsibility of authorised people which leads to those problems.

In conclusion, in my opinion, I would agree that hosting an international sports event brings advantages to the host country, but the subsequence of the lack of responsibility in labour management can be substantially significant. To maximise the benefits of hosting a large sports event, government and authorised staff should pay more attention to what happening and put more efforts in solving the problems before the situation gets worse that it gets international notice.