Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

People have divergent opinions as whether a sport event which is ubiquitous in the world brings various merits or demerits to a country. In my opinion, I suppose that events are one of the most effective ways to prove a country’s strengths to the others around the world.

There are two reasons why some people believe that it is bad to hold any international events. Firstly, launching an international event costs a huge sum of money in the national budget. This means the governments have to levy taxes and put pressure on their citizens. Those who are the poor do not need to have such events because they want to lessen their financial burden. Secondly, there are some risks which can appear when a country organises an event. Taking Korea as an example, the World Cup 2002 had been held there. There were numerous scandals which football’s fan angry about the competent agencies and officials giving bribes to get Korea into the semi-finals. This leads to any bad reputation to Korea until now.

However, I would argue that a country should voluntarily hold an international event. The country is likely to develop its economy because such events can attract a plethora of tourists who come to and pay a lot of money for any services there. Besides that, the country can introduce many new technological advances or merchandise in this event. It seems to be an advertisement to sell and increase their profit after this event happened.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the country which hold an international event is likely to be more successful in introducing and advertising them to other countries around the world.