Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

It is an argument that there are many benefits for the country hosting international sports, while the others think it is bad. I agree with those who believe that it helps to develop the host nation in long term.

On the one hand, there are many reasons that hosting international sports events can cause some disadvantages. Firstly, the country, holding a big event like international sports event can waste the amount of public money, whereas, they can spend on hospitals, building more schools and a welfare state to help the poor. For instance, to organize Olympic Games, the host nation has to spend a huge amount of money on building stadiums, which leads to a major debt after the Olympics for some countries. Secondly, revenue is brought from the organization may also be lower than the cost because an opportunity to make money is just for hotels, restaurants, and businesses related to sports.

On the other hand, I support the argument that there are still bring some benefits to developing the country through the organization. As can be seen, this is an opportunity for the economy of the host nation to develop. Therefore, tourism, hospitality, and business can be taken advantage of sports fans from all over the world coming to attend and cheer for matches of their country’s teams. Moreover, the host country can use all stadiums which are built for sports events as tourist attractions, and those stadiums where can become a place for athletes in the country use to practice for the upcoming sports events.

In conclusion, only a few drawbacks to holding an international sports event, besides there are still bringing a lot of benefits for the host nation.