Some people think that it is important to use leisure time for activities that improve the mind, such as reading and doing word puzzles.

Other people feel that it is important to rest the mind during leisure time.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

At this present day and age, people have various ways in spending their free time and the best activity that will benefit the human mind becomes highly debatable. Whilst others believe that allotting time in reading and answering word puzzles enhances the mental status of an individual which makes it more valuable, some people argue that it is vital to rest during this leisure time. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument and will give the authors perspective about this matter.

To begin with, it is pivotal to use leisure times in doing things that improves the brain activity. Firstly, the mind will be stimulated to perform more creative thinking process if it is exposed to some activities that use thinking. In addition, the human brain will be able to divert consciousness and for a moment replace pre-occupied thoughts by keeping it focus in certain tasks during a person’s free time. To further elaborate, a study shows that people who read or play scrabble as their past time have a wider range of vocabulary and language understanding than those who are not, also, they readers are more open-minded and knowledgeable as they continue learning through reading. Thus, exposing the brain to stimuli during these activities is a way of exercising it to be more functional.

Notwithstanding, some people think that it is better to spend leisure hours by resting the mind. This is because despite the paramount working capacity of the brain to interpret information, it also needs to take a break from stimulus. For instance, there are individuals whose works require a lot of thinking like the scientists or engineers, they are more exposed to external factors that can lead to stress which is not healthy for their mental status. As a result, they need some times to stay away from stimuli to prevent their mind from over thinking. Moreover, relaxation of the brain during free time is important to keep the sanity intact as we are all experiencing stressful situations not only at work but also in the environment and dealing with others.

Henceforth, both sides of the argument are compelling and the best way to resolve this issue is to find balance in activities during free time as they are both beneficial. Mind stimulating leisure activities like reading and word puzzles prove its advantages to human brain as well as the mind relaxation. A person can spend time doing these activities when he or she feels not too exhausted as his or her brain is not prone to over working. However, after experiencing a stressful week, it is better to rest the mind for a moment to help it regain its energy and freshen up the thoughts from the external stimulus.

To recapitulate, spending leisure time is really important part of a healthy being. It depends on the person’s preference on how he or she will use the time either doing activities or just resting the mind which both have merits. Keeping mental status at the best shape is the main priority.