Some people think that it is more effective for students to study in a group while others

believe that it is better for them to study alone. Discuss both views and give your own

opinion ?

Some people believe that students can study more effectively if they study in a group, while the opponents of this idea think that it is better for them to study alone. While there are benefits for students who prefer to study by themselves, I would argue that studying with friends offer more advantages.

On the one hand, studying alone is a good way for students to improve their focus. When students study on their own, they can completely focus on the material they choose, and spend less time on material they have already mastered, which is sometimes impossible if they study in a group because the level of each student is different. Moreover, self-study allows students to concentrate and minimize the disruptions that can keep them from retaining the material. For example, when studying alone, I can focus 100% on studying, which I can not do if I have friends besides me.

On the other hand, I agree with those who argue that studying in a group is better. Firstly, sharing knowledge which is learnt at classrooms is an excellent way to learn in a better way. Some point that students can remember the lessons better if they share knowledge with friends. For example, I was asked to join a group to study for the final exam last semester, and it is the first time I had prepared an exam with friends and with time it turned out to the best preparation I have ever had for an exam. I understood all the points that the professors mentioned at class, and we discussed other points which had not been made distinct. Secondly, some students are good at Maths while others good at Chemistry. A group provides students a way to help each other with their varying weaknesses. Best student in my class was very smart and often did well at every subject while I did poorly at Chemistry, so I asked him to join our group to help us study. This experience taught me that group-study is the most effective method for students.

In conclusion, despite the benefits that self-study can bring students, it seems to me that studying in a group, which not only help students share knowledge but also overcome their weak points is the most valuable way to learn.