Some people think that it is more effective for students to study in a
group while others believe it is better for them to study alone. Discuss both
views and give your own opinions.
There is no doubt that good methods of learning act as a precursor to an effective
learning process. However, public opinion remains divided in choosing a training
procedure. While a school of thought holds that students should study in a group of
people, another claim that individual way is also beneficial. This essay agrees with
the formal view.
On the one hand, self-studying is a great method students can use to enhance their
learning experience. This approach will minimized distraction, allows the learner
to pace themself, and can improve attention span. When you are by yourself,
distraction is minimized due to the lack of other interactions. Moreover, the
individual study will help the pupils to learn things more systematically which
helps to save time.
On the other hand, it is fairly easy to understand the importance of group study.
Firstly, this approach can increase retention and access to information. For
example, by the ability to vocalize ideas when working in a group, students will
remember information better. Along with this, they not only obtain knowledge that they find
by themselves but also those from others. Secondly, in a study group, they can
learn more and quicker by simply asking a question, instead of spending valuable
time puzzling over the difficulty alone, which self –education cannot furnish.
Furthermore, discussing with others will force them to think more about their
position and will, therefore, develop their critical thinking skills.
For the reasons mentioned above, although studying with others benefit learners in
their own ways, it seems to me that studying by oneself is a better approach.