Some people think that it should be compulsory for people to retake their driving test every 5 years. What are the advantages and disadvantages of doing this?

Traffic laws are under constant improvements by governments. Therefore, some people believe that drivers should retake tests every 5 years. In my opinion, repetitive testing can take out of the roads the incompetent drivers, but these tests have a negative drawback.

Regular testing will bring up unfavorable costs, time and efforts for its preparations. Each examination costs a certain amount of money and drivers would try to avoid it. Likewise, it has a huge cost of management on the governments' side. Police administrations should allocate manpower and open up branches in order to be able to take on applicants who want to renew their licenses. Lack of enough branches will result in drivers with outdated licenses.

On the other hand, the growing number of accidents on roads results in changes in laws and regulations in order to optimize traffic on roads. This means that some rules will be outdated and many new ones will be introduced during some time frame, which naturally makes reasonable to test drivers for their knowledge again. The test results will indicate whether or not they are able to drive safely according to laws. For instance, in Armenia, licenses are under renewal every 10 years and according to statistics, 3 out of 100 people fail the test.

In conclusion, in the ongoing alternation of laws and regulations, it would be useful to reevaluate drivers ability to drive properly. Unfortunately retaking test can cause a lot of inconvenience for people and have a huge cost for governments.