Some people think that it would be better for large companies and industry to move to regional areas outside urban centres.What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

The presence of large companies and industries in an area are major indicators of development especially after the era of industrialisation. Although, the location of such edifices is a topic of moot as some believe it is better to have them within the province of an urban city, while others believe it would be better if they are present in a rural area. The essay aims to discuss both the perspectives.

To commence with the positives, a significant advantage of having these companies in regional areas is that it can aid in providing a wide range of job opportunities that could include both skilled and unskilled workers. Moreover, when an industry is setup in a certain area, it brings along with it a lots of development like better road, transport facilities, which eventually leads to development of the surrounding areas. Additionally, there’s an added advantage for the companies as well, as they tend to get larger space to setup in rural areas than in the urban. Also, it is best if they are isolated from the hustle and bustle of the city.

Despite the positive arguments, there seems to be a downside to it. Initially, it might be difficult for the companies to find skilled workers as most of them reside in urban cities due to which people might not be willing to travel. In order to attract the employees to work, there can be some additional cost incurred by the company in providing facilities like travel and home space.

In conclusion, although setting up an industry outside an urban has some adverse effects but on deeper dive the merits overweigh the demerits significantly.