There is no doubt in the fact that the most important role in shaping a child's future is that of the parents. However, there are a few individuals who believe that there are many other social factors outside the family that influence the progress of the child. Both the views will be discussed in detail before I give my opinion.

To begin with, the foremost reason that the supporters of former view give is that students today are able to access a lot of information from the online videos and blogs of experts from different fields. Nonetheless, they can also watch violent movies and play video games which waste their time and also corrupt their naive minds. With the increase in the number of social networking sites, it is easy to make friends with anyone without knowing about their background. The company that a child has also determine the traits of his character as peer pressure also influences the actions of a child.

On the other hand, the argument put forward by believers of second opinion is that a child spends most of its time with its family. The parents know about the strengths and weaknesses of their wards and are most suitable for making best decisions for them. A child also derives its moral education at its home on the initial basis. The child who is able to communicate with his parents and siblings efficiently is able to make friends easily and also gains confidence. Hence, a positive and friendly environment within a family is indispensable to raise a child healthily.

Thus, in order to draw a conclusion, I would like to assert that both family and social surroundings of a child play a crucial part in growth and development of a child. They also help to determine the behaviour of a child when it reaches adulthood.

Therefore, parents and teachers should work together and take care that the child's future is not disturbed by any of the social factors surrounding him.