Some people think that men and women have different qualities. Therefore, some certain jobs are suitable for men and some jobs are suitable for women. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a common belief that each person has gender-specific personalities and competence, thereby men and women should pursuit a career based on their sexes. While I think the belief, although sounds like a social prejudice, can be applied to most cases, I completely disagree with the deduction from it.

On the one hand, it is a well-established fact that both genders have its own unique characters and abilities to a certain extent. From a social point view, mankind has had these distinguished features grouped as masculine and feminine traits throughout the history that makes people automatically assume every male and female to have a handful of characters in the corresponding group. For instance, men are usually seen as physically stronger than women, along with better analytical abilities, while women show distinct diligence, meticulousness and both higher physical and mental endurance, all of which has been proven by various valid scientific studies. From a historical perspective, the distinct difference of physical strength between the two genders, among many other causes, leads to the transition of human society from to matriarchy to patriarchy, where, until the near of modern days, the man holds the role of breadwinner and his wife accepts to be a housewife, taking care of the family. All the aforementioned facts serve as a clear evidence that men and women have some distinguishable qualities.

On the other hand, I would argue that there isn't any kind of profession that only men can do but not women because of several reason. First of all, nowadays, most positions in fields like politic, science, business, etc., or jobs that require significant vitality, are continue to be dominant by men, whilst the opposite sex is major in educational or health-related occupations. The root of this problem is not due to the different qualities between the genders, it is the outdated stereotypes of society that women should not have access to higher education, better to stay at home and do household duties. As a consequence, many girls have been barred from going to university or acquiring higher degrees, who could have significantly contributed to national pool of talent. Another reason should be considered is that there are virtually no male-specific jobs, except corrections officers in prison for male prisoners or religious official, and vice versa. Therefore, thanks to this overlooked fact, it's absolutely feasible for both men and women to hold same position in companies, state agencies, etc.

In conclusion, while I support the view that the two genders are utterly disparate in term of characters and abilities, I wholeheartedly disagree that some certain jobs are suitable for men and some jobs are suitable for women.