Some people think that museums and art galleries should concentrate on the history and art of their own country rather than the works of art of other parts of the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Museums and art galleries play a vital role in preserving and conveying historical values for a long time. It is argued that they should focus on displaying works that represent the nation's culture and history better than international works. In my opinion, Although I agree with the first view because the local art and historical works can promote great patriotism, we also should not ignore the importance of foreign art and history.

On the one hand, there are reasons why it is believed that domestic art and historical works should be given priority. Firstly, All kinds of local works displayed in museums and art galleries recreate the chronological flow and cultural values of one nation. By going to these museums and galleries, people will gain a deeper understanding of their nation, thus, ensures one's love and pride for one's country. For instance, the War Remnants Museum in Ho Chi Minh city possesses a series of themed rooms with military equipment and graphic photographs depicting war crime and have a chance to know about ancestors bravely sacrificed themselves for the independence of VietNam. Therefore, the exhibitions serve an educational purpose as they instil patriotism and promote a sense of national pride. In addition, in the era of globalization, culture integration is threatening many unique cultures, and thence, the display of their works and artifacts will help to preserve their culture and the cultural diversity of a nation.

On the other hand, showing international works of art has several merits. The historical and art works from other parts of the world will allow the public to acquire a proper understanding of different nations' political and social issues as well as their distinct cultures, which is a vital factor fostering globalization. Furthermore, if museums display international works, they will attract more people to come to visit, which apparently supports the economy.

In conclusion, for the aforementioned reasons, I am convinced that it is necessary for museums and art galleries to display both types of local and foreign works.