Some people think that museums should be enjoyable place to attract and entertain young people. Other think that the purpose of museums is to educate not to entertain

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Museums contain the treasure troves of artifacts which are allegorical of the cultural heritage of a country. They evince the distinction of the cultural tastes among different countries. People are of different opinions regarding the purpose of museums. Some say that museums should be established to promote recreation only; yet others believe that they must be dedicated for didactic and learning purposes. Both of these views will be analyzed before a reasoned conclusion is drawn.

Firstly, the first group of people considers that entertainment activities in museums will hold an attraction for more people. For instance, in Science and Technology Museum Ottawa Canada, some portion of the museum is reserved for gaming purpose and refreshment. As these kinds of recreational activities will captivate myriad people towards them, soaring revenues can be generated. Thus, the plausibility of the newly constructed museums as pleasure places can be seen.

However, on the side of the argument, the second group of people has a perspective on the instructional role of the museums. As an example, the British Museum in London, England educates its visitors about the relics it houses by placing inscriptions beside them. Since this practice of instructing people has its positive ramifications, therefore, it will strengthen people's knowledge and love for their culture and tradition. So, the argument that museums should be built for learning purposes is also possible.

In summary, both sides of the argument in respect of the function of museums hold strong support. However, after analyzing the two camps, it is believed that the educational aim of the museums is much more beneficial and propitious. As such, the plausibility of the recreational role of the museums remains weak.