Since the dawn of time storytelling has been playing a shaping role in the development of generations of human beings. At at time when there were no books, telling stories was the only way to maintain alive legends and traditions. Although storytelling is as old as mankind, opinion is still divided when it comes to discussing the utility of this practice. While some believe that parents should read stories to their children, others on the contrary claim that children can read books or watching TV by themselves. The aim of this essay is to weigh the pros and cons of those two opposite points of view.

For some parents, reading stories to their children has made it in the daily life. This activity sometimes has the shape of a ritual, where children listen to the voice of an adult reading aloud. It is a powerful practice that actually has several benefits. First of all, it helps keep family together and reinforce the ties between older and newer generations. Second, children learn to sharp their listening skills, which has a positive impact on their ability to comprehend and spell words properly. Moreover, listening to stories increases also creativity levels and imagination.

On the other hand, different opinions arise affirming that children are perfectly able to carry out activities like reading or watching TV by themselves. Conversely to the examples mentioned above, this approach has more drawbacks than benefits. These days, in most of the cases both parents work and consequently they have less time to spend with their children. Making ends meet, paying bills, earning enough money, are only some of the issues families have to face everyday. Reading stories requires patience and commitment, otherwise children would not enjoy it. In the light of this fact, some parents leave children read books alone, which is after all not a bad practice. Reading brings always advantages, since it helps broaden the vocabulary and it is the key ingredient to hone writing skills.

In conclusion, due to the lack of time that sometimes afflicts families, some parents do not have enough time to dedicate to storytelling. However, from the examples mentioned above, it results that this practice is linked to several benefits and therefore should be actively pursued. It can strengthen familiar boundaries and develop essential skills children need at school.